Reviews

What people are saying about The Black Horse Hotel




grassington - Rating 4/5

fab location for everything!Very comfy stay and super breakfast.Nothing a bother. Thank you

Reviewer: Joyce Coe | Mon 26th Jun 2017


Grassed up - Rating 5/5

Staff polite and friendly Room comfortable and clean. Food very good. Public areas very clean Good outdoor area Very nice village for short stay, with excellent access to Yorkshire Dales - many walks from doorstep. Parking could be a potential problem.

Reviewer: Katrina Goodyear | Thu 22nd Jun 2017


A good dog friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

A good dog friendly hotel, staff were very helpful and enjoyed the stay. Parking not good with only the market square if you are lucky to find a space.

Reviewer: Mr M Ellwood | Sat 17th Jun 2017


Lovely accomodation in beautiful setting - Rating 4/5

Very comfy bed and great view from our window (room 15). Good food. Lovely staff and excellent service. Will stay again

Reviewer: Patricia Jacobs | Thu 15th Jun 2017


Very dog friendly - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay. Clean room, good food, well kept beer. Excellent place to stay with dogs.

Reviewer: Shona Davis | Sat 10th Jun 2017


Our stay at black horse - Rating 5/5

Great little bnb food was excellent staff were friendly good relaxed atmosphere in the bar and the room was spot on! Reccomend to all!! Definatley staying again!!

Reviewer: Simon Carr | Fri 9th Jun 2017


holiday - Rating 5/5

exelant well looked after will stay again

Reviewer: Mrs SP Fretwell | Mon 5th Jun 2017


Fabulous stay - Rating 4/5

The hotel had a lovely friendly atmosphere. The room was spacious, clean and fresh and the bathroom too was a good size with a great shower. Our only minor issue was the bunk beds which were very noisy every time one moved in the bed.The breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. Overall an excellent stay. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mrs. Pauline Jones | Mon 5th Jun 2017


very nce - Rating 4/5

very nice staff, delicious breakfast, great location. nice view from our window. Room on a bit of a tilt (only a little bit - and full of character, considering that the inn was built in 1650 or so!)

Reviewer: lynn valentine | Sat 3rd Jun 2017


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

This hotel suited our needs for a 2 night stay on a b&b basis. Breakfast was delicious, compliments to the chef, spotlessly clean throughout the hotel, well done to the cleaning staff. Enjoyed the pub quiz! All staff friendly and welcoming. Grassington village is a lovely village, with a variety of shops, bars/restaurants, a great base for exploring the Peak District.

Reviewer: Debra Nield | Sat 3rd Jun 2017


Friendly, comfortable hotel in the heart of Grassington - Rating 4/5

Good sized, nicely decorated and comfortable room; welcoming, helpful, friendly staff. Good value and location. A great base for exploring the Dales and surrounding area.

Reviewer: Mr. Trevor Dolding | Tue 30th May 2017


First timet - Rating 5/5

Very quaint hotel, lovely and adequate room, excellent food and customer service, very efficient bathroom,easy parking facilities.

Reviewer: Will Price | Mon 22nd May 2017


black horse hotel - Rating 5/5

great place to stay will definately return thankyou josh tobi and your wonderful staff

Reviewer: Wanda Gildart | Sat 20th May 2017


Great Base For A Cycling Holiday - Rating 5/5

I stayed in a twin room as part of a cycling club trip to the Dales. The room was comfortable and clean, the food was great, the staff even put on an early breakfast for a few of us wanting to set out early and there was a great selection of draft ales in the bar. Would definately stay again

Reviewer: Mr. Ian White | Tue 16th May 2017


Very enjoyable evening. - Rating 5/5

We just stayed for one evening with our little dog. We had just finished a very nice meal when a group of guitar and ukelele players came in and set up. They were very talented and great fun and made the evening a lively and special one. This hotel is very warm and welcoming, serves good food and provides a lovely room for the night. Should we be in the area again we wouldn\'t hesitate to go back.

Reviewer: Mrs B Lowe | Wed 10th May 2017


Dalesway stop-over - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable and convenient overnighter for the Dalesway.

Reviewer: Mr. Tim Brear | Tue 2nd May 2017


Wharfdale v Caldy - Rating 5/5

We were in Grassington for the rugby match and once again chose the Black Horse as our base. It offers quality twin rooms which are not always available locally. As usual, an excellent breakfast and friendly, reliable service so without doubt we\'ll be returning.

Reviewer: David Jones | Mon 24th Apr 2017


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Black Horse having walked from Ilkley to Grassington with our dog. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere in the bar area was good. The room was very clean and very nicely presented and the bed was really comfortable. Our family came to meet us for a meal, everyone enjoyed the food. We had a lovely stay and would recommend the Black Horse.

Reviewer: Michaela Holmes | Fri 21st Apr 2017


Excellent service and very dog friendly - Rating 5/5

We stayed for four nights in the black horse. The breakfast was good- piping hot and served quickly; the bar had a good selection of ales; the room was big and clean. We took our Labrador with us and the room was big enough for him, he also allowed in all rooms and there were doggy treats for him in the bar! Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the location is an ideal base for walks to Hebden, Linton and Grassington Woods. Skipton is 15 mins drive, Harrogate about 20 mins.

Reviewer: Michelle Jux | Wed 19th Apr 2017


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, fabulous food, lovely room and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend to anyone. See you again soon!

Reviewer: Mrs. Sally Timlin | Tue 18th Apr 2017


Dickensian wk end - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the black horse for the Dickensian wk end. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The bar area was a lovely warm place to sit and have a drink or meal in front of log fire great on a cold day as it was probably the worst weather ever but never got us down. The restaurant was very nice food was well presented and at at a fair price we ate in the restaurant a few times. The double ensuite room was very warm and clean he shower was great as it was a nice hot mixer shower which was very clean and user friendly. The only problem we had was the mattress was a little to soft but that is personal choice overall a great hotel and will certainly be booking to stay there again. Many thanks for a great stay.

Reviewer: Mr. Stephen Murray | Sun 6th Dec 2015


good place to stay - Rating 5/5

Just had a lovely short break at the Black horse. Our dog was made very welcome and so were we. Nice clean and simply furnished rooms and a great breakfast. Lovely area to stay and superb walks, we will definatly be staying there again.

Reviewer: Ms. Gaynor Heighton | Thu 20th Oct 2011


Grassington at its best. - Rating 5/5

A nicely refurbished hotel with a very friendly ambience. Excellent food. Good service by friendly staff. Altogether a pleasant and enjoyable place to stay.

Reviewer: Roger Birchall | Sun 16th Oct 2011


Fantastic ***** - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic stay at the Black Horse Hotel John was a wonderful host the rooms were very clean and the place its self so friendly. Didnt want to leave and would deffinatley recommend this to anyone visiting Grassington.

Reviewer: Karen-Anne Horne | Tue 27th Sep 2011


Way of the Roses cycle trip - Rating 5/5

Great location in beatiful village along the route, perfect stopping distance after Day 1 of 3 on Way of the Roses cycle route. Bunk room accomodation very clean and comfortable and reasonably priced Lovely evening meal in pub with good selection of local beers which suited our group just fine. Excellent choice for breakfast the next day all superbly cooked great stop of point for cyclists thanks again

Reviewer: David Horden | Mon 26th Sep 2011


Black Horse Hotel - Rating 5/5

The Black Horse Hotel in Grassington is a lovely place to stay with an excellent kitchen served. Rooms are nicely designed and very comfortable. We enjoyed every minute.

Reviewer: Ulrich & Judith Stilla | Wed 7th Sep 2011


very good - Rating 4/5

Good place to be, to walk en enjoy the landscape. Good breakfast en very good diner We loved staying in your hotel fam Haverkamp from The Netherlands

Reviewer: Mrs. Wilmien Haverkamp | Wed 7th Sep 2011


cycling - Rating 4/5

Nice clean and comfortable rooms with a well cooked full english break fast

Reviewer: Kevin Mongan | Mon 5th Sep 2011


mrs moses - Rating 4/5

room was beautifully clean, however a little on the small side for a family. Very comfy beds, very warm and welcoming staff and a fantastic breakfast. Would recommend to friends.

Reviewer: Moses | Mon 5th Sep 2011


GOOD PLACE - Rating 4/5

FRIENDLY RECENTLY MODERNISED GOOD VALUE

Reviewer: Mr. Van Mourik | Tue 30th Aug 2011


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time at the Black Horse Hotel. The room, meals and host were excellent. Beautiful village and breathtaking scenery along the local walks. It was a very relaxing break - just what we were looking for! Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer: Mrs. Christine Spitty | Fri 26th Aug 2011


BLACK HORSE - Rating 5/5

ENJOYED OUR STAY CAN HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Reviewer: Chris Tyas | Tue 23rd Aug 2011


A SUPER WEEKEND - Rating 4/5

This is a clean friendly hotel with superb staff and a landlord who is very entertaining. even if the bar staff do not appreciate his singing.We would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a good bed and a fine breakfast.

Reviewer: Mr. Mark Dugdale | Tue 23rd Aug 2011


Recent stay - Rating 4/5

We found the black horse to be comfortable although the room was a little small. The recent Refurb has given the bar a more modern feel. The breakfast was lovely. All the staff were friendly & nothing was to much trouble. Would definately stay again

Reviewer: Julie Reynolds | Mon 22nd Aug 2011


3 night break - Rating 4/5

We stayed 3 nights Aug 8/9/10th. On arrival found we were booked in 2nd floor room and my wife having breathing problems could not manage the stairs. Staff were very accommodating and even though they were full managed to find us a room on 1st floor which was fine. There was work going on in the hotel which restricted the evening meal menus (no a la carte).In spite of this, and it would appear staff working under difficult conditions, we were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Reviewer: Bob Sills | Sun 21st Aug 2011


Black Horse Hotel - Rating 5/5

Friendly and helpful staff,great food and spotlessly clean room.Very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Matheson | Sun 14th Aug 2011


A lovely mid week break - Rating 4/5

Our stay at The Black Horse was very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and the meals were excellent. It was a pity that we chose the week when the bar was being re-fitted but this did not stop us enjoying an evening drink. We would like to return to see the new bar in all its glory ! !

Reviewer: Mrs Charnock | Sat 6th Aug 2011


A lovely mid week break - Rating 4/5

Our stay at The Black Horse was very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and the meals were excellent. It was a pity that we chose the week when the bar was being re-fitted but this did not stop us enjoying an evening drink. We would like to return to see the new bar in all its glory ! !

Reviewer: Mrs Charnock | Sat 6th Aug 2011


Stay at Black horse hotel - Rating 4/5

Our room was very comfortable and we had all the amentities that we required; TV, nice hot and clean shower. The hotel is well located and the staff were happy to assist with all our needs for us; mother and daughter with our dog.

Reviewer: Sarah Ellison | Thu 4th Aug 2011


A Boy Named Sue - Rating 5/5

A great little hotel in the lovely village of Grassington - a perfect base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Our group of 8 adult male walkers received a warm welcome and were well looked after during our long weekend stay. The rooms were basic but good and clean, the breakfasts hearty and the pub grub delicious. Excellent value for money. Would definitely return!

Reviewer: James Dowding | Sun 24th Jul 2011


Great Place to stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly people, nice food, nice pint, rooms comfortable and clean.

Reviewer: Harrison | Tue 19th Jul 2011


Skylight room review - Rating 3/5

Skylight Room needs a window - very claustrophobic. Lovely people, lovely breakfast and evening bars.

Reviewer: Mr Hatfield | Mon 18th Jul 2011


3 night stay - Rating 4/5

A good hotel. Room v. clean and comfortable with immacculat bathroom. Breakfasts excellent and all staff v. friendly and helpful. Only downside was no parking and it was a long pull up the hill with a case to the free parking area.

Reviewer: Richard Hutchinson | Sat 9th Jul 2011


Little Gem - Rating 4/5

Two nights spent at The Black Horse were delightful. Rooms comfortable and well appointed,food and wine very good and the service was excellent. A very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Will return!

Reviewer: Mrs. Pauline Woodcock | Fri 8th Jul 2011


Bike Ride - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay, perfectly comfortable for the price. On a cross country bike ride and staff opened up for breakfast an hour early to accomodate our early start so many thanks.

Reviewer: Tom Gillon | Thu 7th Jul 2011


Excellent - Rating 4/5

Thank you, you made me feel very welcome, all staff were polite and friendly. Can't fault you. Not sure how to indicate this in the star rating below, but call it 4. (no car park)

Reviewer: Anthony Greaves | Wed 6th Jul 2011


Excellent Hotel! - Rating 5/5

This is a nice hotel.

Reviewer: Mr. Tareq Alam | Tue 5th Jul 2011


Great place, great food, great everything - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night in a twin room - well furnished to a good spec. The bar/restaurant area is an old building with lots of character, and the full English breakfast we were served was fantastic - all local ingredients and cooked to perfection, I would highly recommend The Black Horse for this alone! We felt the price was very fair and all the staff and the landlord were very welcoming and friendly, great customer service. All in all, I would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again!

Reviewer: Mrs. Carole Ruckwood | Wed 29th Jun 2011


good stop on the way of the roses - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable rooms, good tasty breakfasts and we had live jazz on the night we stayed Had a good meal there in the evening. The manager went out of his way to solve a problem for us.

Reviewer: Ray Valins | Sat 18th Jun 2011


The Black Horse, Grassington - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful staff. Service was excellent, good food and beer, plus the rooms were comfortable. Stay there!

Reviewer: Keith Parker | Mon 13th Jun 2011


thank you - Rating 4/5

This was our first stay in Grassington and we found the Black Horse Hotel to be warm and welcoming, the four poster room was clean and comfortable with all mordern amenities. (including wi-fi, TV/DVD combo with HDMI socket. Breakfast was a leisurely experience with high quality local food and we found the evening meal to be of high standard. I'm sure we will return and recommend.

Reviewer: Colin Tottman | Fri 10th Jun 2011


Awesome - Rating 5/5

John and Debbie really have got this place on its feet. After visiting the other pubs in the village, we knew we had found the right one for us. The rooms are smart and modern, with excellent facilities and the bar has a relaxed atmosphere and great food. We were immediately made welcome and even though we were on such a short stay, we still got to know some of the staffs names. Thanks to Steve (the "walking stick" man and Nick and Tobi for making our short stay a memorable one. Cant wait to go back.

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Robinson | Fri 10th Jun 2011


Very Good Short Break - Rating 4/5

Every member of staff we met at the Black Horse made us feel very welcome and were very courteous. Travelling with my wife and 2 daughters, the room was very comfortable and clean but could have done with an extra mirror. Because we were in Grassington for a family wedding, we didn't eat in the hotel of an evening but the breakfasts were very good, the food was hot and the service very good.

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Sheppard | Mon 6th Jun 2011


Great value hotel - Rating 5/5

This was a really good value stay. The room was very clean and comfortable and the hard working staff were friendly and efficient. Particular praise must go to the chef who produced outstanding evening meals which we ate in the pub lounge. The cooked breakfasts were also excellent.

Reviewer: Mr. Steven Dawson | Mon 6th Jun 2011


The Black Horse - Rating 4/5

We loved the location in Grassington, the hotel room was very good and the staff friendly. Our main critisism was the >1hr wait to be served dinner although the food was good. Excellent breakfast. R and M

Reviewer: Mr. Richard Johnson | Tue 31st May 2011


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

After 60 miles tough cycling we were greeted with a warm welcome by John and his staff. Room were ideal for our requirements and the full English breakfast went down a treat before another long days cycling.

Reviewer: Peter Jowett | Wed 25th May 2011


dennis - Rating 5/5

Very good impression as soon as you walk in. The staff are extremely friendly and the room was very nice and clean with a fantastic view.

Reviewer: Mr Dennis Eccles | Mon 16th May 2011


Black Horse - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a 4 night stay in the Black Horse in Grassington. The hotel was better than I expected for the money. The room had just been refurbished so everything was clean and new, the staff helpful and friendly and the breakfasts spot on. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer: Mr. Peter Jones | Sun 8th May 2011


Black Horse Grassington - Rating 5/5

Thouroughly enjoyed a weekend stay at the Black Horse,John and the staff very helpful and friendly. Good rooms, Good food, good beer. Cant wait for a return visit, very very dog friendly.

Reviewer: Mr Shaw | Sun 8th May 2011


black horse - Rating 4/5

good room, good hospitality, great breakfast.

Reviewer: Peter Shiel | Fri 6th May 2011


great place friendly staff and real value - Rating 5/5

Stayed on first night of Way of The Roses cycle route on a busy bank holiday. Staff could not have been more helpful or accomodating. We stayed in what was described as "bunk style" accomodation. If anything this was undersold. I was expecting a youth hostel style set up but the room and especially the En suite shower was better than most B+B i've stayed in and the cost (£25 ppn) was a bargain including breakfast. Breakfast was massive and we left the next morning well fuelled and rested for the rest of the ride. VERY HIGHLY RECOMENDED

Reviewer: Tim Wand | Wed 27th Apr 2011


Our stay - Rating 5/5

I had booked our stay as a Christmas gift for my husband. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome, shown to our room, meal times and room facilities were explained. Our room had recently been refurbished and looked wonderful. The room was very clean, bed linen crisp and oh such a comfortable bed!! Unfortunately, not all the channels were accessible. Breakfasts were wholesome, filling and piping hot. Our evening meal on the Saturday was very good. All in all, an excellent stay. The Black Horse is to be recommended. We will be back!!

Reviewer: Mrs V Julian | Mon 18th Apr 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat