Reviews

What people are saying about Black Horse Hotel




Autumn Break - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our 2 night Autumn Break at the Black Horse. The room & food were great & we found every member of staff we met to be very helpful & pleasant.Good value & we would definitely recommend & stay again

Reviewer:Ann G | Thu 15th Nov 2018 | 3 days ago


Black horse hotel - Rating 5/5

Great stay. Hotel and staff lived up to what was promised. Highly recommend

Reviewer:Sharon W | Mon 12th Nov 2018 | 6 days ago


Had a great weekend- Rating 4/5

Stayed for the weekend and had a fantastic time the rooms where good and the food was fantastic.. the service from the staff was excellent and welcoming! The only down sides was the bathrooms,there ready modernising.

Reviewer:Martin j | Mon 12th Nov 2018 | 6 days ago


Black Horse ,an excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Warm and friendly hotel.Rooms comfortable and clean.Pub excellent atmosphere.A splendid base for an enjoyable few days walking.

Reviewer:John B | Sat 10th Nov 2018 | 1 week ago


Short autumnbreak - Rating 5/5

Great stay in a well run comfortable hotel. Good food, good room good staff in a great area.

Reviewer:Brian B | Thu 1st Nov 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed here and its a lovely hotel with a great atmosphere in a fantastic location !! Whats not to love ? Staff are brilliant and the food is spot on - will definetly be returning

Reviewer:Lorraine M | Tue 30th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Warm & homely stay - Rating 4/5

The Black Horse is a wonderful popular country pub and from sitting next to the log fire eating a lovely snack to drinking good Timothy Taylors to the check in to the comfortable clean room and lovely bathroom, the place feels like home.

Reviewer:Mike S | Tue 30th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Autumn Break - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable hotel,which was great value.It is so expensive to go away for a weekend in popular villages,but with the room offer and meal discount it was a great weekend for my mates and I.If a similar deal is available I would like to return with my wife.Also food was great.

Reviewer:Mark R | Tue 30th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


golden retriever - Rating 4/5

great stay with a very comfortable nights sleep had a dog with us which caused no issue at all, food of a good standard although the bar area does not seem as roomy as when it was in the other area no issues or problemsstaff friendly and accommodating

Reviewer:Mr Kevin T | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Lovely hotel with a warm welcome - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at The Black Horse. The room we had was on the small side, but comfortable and very clean. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We ate in the hotel's restaurant both nights and the food was very good. The bar area was cosy and had a lovely friendly atmosphere. We would definitely go back.

Reviewer:Heather N | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Autumn break - Rating 5/5

We've neverstayed at the Black Horse in Grassington before but would definitely go again. Very nice staff, clean spacious room, delicious food and friendly relaxing atmosphere.Grassington is a lovely place surrounded by beautifulscenery.We drove to nearby Knaresborough one day and walked along the river, very pleasant.

Reviewer:Mary G | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Black horse short stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent, warm and helpful staff, very clean country hotel. Parking very close.

Reviewer:b | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Cycling - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful,comfortable room,good food.

Reviewer:B | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Perfect as always. - Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay,modern,clean and dog friendly.Staff are all very friendly,nothing is too much trouble.

Reviewer:Lynn P | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Our annual reunion - Rating 5/5

This was our fourth stay at the Black Horse, and it gets better every time.Accomodation and meals excellent, high quality, very luxurious room, we had the four poster.Great atmosphere on music night.Roll on our next visit..

Reviewer:Dorothy W | Fri 19th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Weekend at the Black Horse - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed at the black horse for our annual , weekend away , with our friends, and we wasn’t disappointed, the hotel had recently been refurbished, our room was warm and amazingly clean, as were the rest of our party.We had our evening meal in the hotel on the Friday evening and we wasn’t disappointed with that either, as was the breakfast plenty of everything.The bar area was very cosy and had a great atmosphere, our party all said we would definitely goBack again.

Reviewer:Tina H | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Superb! - Rating 5/5

Last minute decision to have a break in the Dales. We came across the Black Horse Hotel in Grassington doing some random Dales searches.Staff - All members of staff were very attentive & friendly.Room - Was clean & fresh with a disk style coffee maker/machine. Daily cleaning/ change of towels as required.Breakfast - fruit juice, various cereals, fry-up, pancakes/syrup & fresh fruit salad (last 3 are chosen by card request system the night before. Can be changed if you wish.Thoroughly enjoyed my daily fry-up with the large in house made sausage.Dinner - we decided to eat all three nights of our stay here as dinner was superb on the first night. We weren’t disappointed with the next 2 dinners either.Ribs (full rack) the meat fell off the bone. The beer battered fish was ace. The steak & ale pie, was a proper pie, not the pastry cooked separately & placed on top type.Lounge/bar - this pub appeared to be the main place to be in the village. The local residents & visitors were all friendly & chatty.Suggestions - Pancake/syrup choice for breakfast - two pancakes seemed out of balance if chosen over the fry-up. 3/4 for a more heartier breakfast before a walk in the Dales would be more filling (can always walk off the calories lol). A further selection of a croissant/pastry (which nowadays is very popular) would be great (I know my wife would have went that way).Overall - The Black horse has recently been refurbished & was a delightful place to stay. We would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending it to others. Keep up the great work.

Reviewer:John F | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Fab weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, room spotless, breakfast lovely, restaurant food amazing and the staff were so helpful. Can't wait to book again

Reviewer:Sandra C | Tue 9th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Autumn 2018 visit - Rating 5/5

Accommodation great - rooms very comfortable.Bar, lounge, dining areas ideal for relaxation - all with a pleasant atmosphere.Food, from breakfast to evening meals excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Roger B | Mon 8th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Weekend away - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay. Very clean well presented hotel, excellent staff, food and beer first class.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Glyn B | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Black Horse Hotel, Grassington - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay with you.Lovely friendly staff, clean and comfortable room.delicious supper, and breakfasts cannot have been easy with 15 of us for supper on Friday arriving at all times.A big thank you for making my sons wedding weekend such fun.Will be sure to come back.

Reviewer:Simon & Bridget H | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

All staff warm and welcoming, great location in the centre, the room was clean and well stocked the shower didn’t have the greatest water pressure but did the job. The food was superb breakfast had plenty of options all well prepared. Afternoon and evening meals were fantastic too I would recommend eating there even if you can’t get a room if your in the area.

Reviewer:Christopher W | Sat 29th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Black horse - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay for a weekend hotel was nice and clean friendly staff only down side was no parking facilities

Reviewer:David R | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Most friendly and helpful receptionist ever, so lovely and great first impression of hotel. The restaurant staff were just lovely and the breakfast was amazing I was very pleased with my stay, and although short and sweet this time, I hope to be back for a longer visit in the future. The only complaint I have is the lack of parking but all the staff and facilities were lovely. It was very quiet even though I stayed on a Saturday night! I am 8 months pregnant and very tired and need a good soft bed, and I can safely say I had one of the best nights sleep Iv had in months! Highly recommend this place for a cute stay for a couple or traveling on your own.

Reviewer:Rebecca L | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


recent stay - Rating 5/5

On behalf of the 22 members of the Indianapolis Hiking club, a big thank you.We all very much enjoyed our lunch with you last week.Please thank all your staff for being so cheerful, friendly and very helpful . Also thanks to cooks for excellent food.Mervyn Cohen

Reviewer:Mervyn C | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


One night stop overt - Rating 5/5

Warm, friendly and welcoming.Excellent food both as evening meal and breakfast. Well prepared and presented.Room was quirky, in line with the old building and had everything you could need-toiletries, lovely towels, tea/coffe/hot chocolate and biscuits.Parking was no problem- no space in the square to parked further up the hill.Would highly recommend and will be back soon.

Reviewer:Hayley J | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

We come every year for the 1940's event and every year we are looked after so well. The staff are great and very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everybody. I can't fault it. Also the food is fantastic in the restaurant.

Reviewer:Jim E | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


September 2018 - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at the Black Horse. Room was spacious and clean. The Pub area was great for drinks and dinner and we also ate in the dinning room. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. If returning to Grassington would certainly stay at the Black Horse

Reviewer:Janet D | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent accommodation, friendly pub with lovely atmosphere - Rating 5/5

Ideal base for walking in and visiting the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Breakfast outstanding.Evening meal menu could be a little more varied.

Reviewer:Mrs Diane H | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

My mother and I enjoyed our stay. Requested room not too far for mum to walk and got room at top of stairs. Very enjoyable stay and beds comfortable but very high. Mum had a bit of trouble getting in but once in was fine. Thanks for an enjoyable stay

Reviewer:helen b | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Black horse hotel - Rating 4/5

As always we had a great weekend here . Food and drink were excellent and the staff friendly and welcoming

Reviewer:MR CHRIS S | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Thoroughly enjoyable - Rating 5/5

Sometimes, the price you pay for staying in places with a bit of history is lack of comfort - uneven floors, darkness, creaky stairs, draughts etc. Not so with the Black Horse. Our room was cozy and quiet and suited all our needs. We stayed the first week in September, so slightly off season but the parking was not the problem we expected. Sometimes we got the square. Sometimes we had to park a whole two minutes walk away. As for the staff, I could not praise them highly enough. Attentive and helpful yet well able to take part in a spot of good natured banter. A lovely stay.

Reviewer:Peter G | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I had a wonderful few days at the Black Horse.Room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was great, people were friendly and helpful.We were especially grateful for their breakfast accommodations with gluten free, vegetarian and vegan requirements.The pub is clearly popular with both locals and tourists as it was packed every night!Highly recommend staying here in this lovely little town.

Reviewer:Norma B | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Room 16 - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed every minute. Clean, well attended room. Toiletries provided which is an added bonus when travelling on a scooter !Food was delicious & the waiter on Sunday night (didn't catch his name) was a star.We will return.

Reviewer:Ian H | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Very enjoyable short break - Rating 4/5

My friends and I stayed here whilst on a walking weekend. We had a great time, the staff are very friendly and the food is great.

Reviewer:carol w | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


SHORT STAY - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay. Thought the alterations to the Bar area were excellent. all members of staff were pleasant, hospitable, and helpful. Food was excellent. Have stayed numerous times and certainly return again.

Reviewer:Mr B | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Superb visit - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay. Staff very helpful. Rooms comfortable and nicely furnished. Evening meal in the restaurant was delicious. Would recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:S | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Bank holiday weekend - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay ,very friendly ,clean ,cosy ,and inviting .centrally located .allthough there's no parking it isn't a problem ,as there's plenty of parking in village .you can do a few gentle walks from hotel too.Breakfastwas faband we ate both night in restaurant lovely .staff can't do enough to make sure your stay wonderful .Shall return .

Reviewer:Colette l | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Bank holiday weekend - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay ,very friendly ,clean ,cosy ,and inviting .centrally located .allthough there's no parking it isn't a problem ,as there's plenty of parking in village .you can do a few gentle walks from hotel too.Breakfastwas faband we ate both night in restaurant lovely .staff can't do enough to make sure your stay wonderful .Shall return .

Reviewer:Colette l | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Great weekend away! - Rating 5/5

Couldn’t fault anything. Had a lovely 2nights, room was lovely and clean, food was fantastic, and it was great that it was very dog friendly too! Great base for waking!

Reviewer:Kerry C | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Aaa - Rating 4/5

Very pleased with our stay, the staff were very good at their jobs and seemed to run very efficiently, I thought the pre booking of breakfast is a good idea, although could be a bit earlier than 8-30

Reviewer:Mr Allan C | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


A very pleasant and comfortable hotel - Rating 4/5

Good service, nice atmosphere, fine room, good food, but not outstanding.

Reviewer:Hans A | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent accommodation. - Rating 4/5

Excellent accommodation, great food and very polite and accommodating staff. Small complaint , we can cope with dogs in the bar but not in the breakfast room, the restaurant and in the bedrooms.When the details said dogs allowed we didn’t realise they meant everywhere !!!

Reviewer:Barry W | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Pleasant 2 night stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant, helpful staff, clean rooms, good breakfast

Reviewer:Tricia M | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Mr Mrs fishet - Rating 5/5

Fantastic weekend staff very helpful and friendly room was lovely and clean would definitely recommend it

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Steve F | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely cosy pub hotel in pretty village - Rating 5/5

Great service, clean cosy room, good food and friendly, helpful staff. A very warm and efficient welcome on arrival. Great pub atmosphere (you can eat in the pub or restaurant area). Step out the door and you are in the centre of a really pretty, historic village with plenty of nice cafes and independent shops. Lovely 2 day stay.

Reviewer:Patricia P | Sat 18th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Fantastic food and surroundings. Very dog friendly. Wil be returning aga for another break.

Reviewer:Mrs Elaine W | Sat 18th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice place staff all very friendly Tom was very helpful. Nice food and rooms. If ever that way on i would definitely stay there again. Thanks Denis Wright

Reviewer:Denis W | Fri 17th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Very clean- Rating 4/5

Very clean quirky hotel and rooms, comfy bed, felt very safe. lovey options for breakfast and great food available in bar and restaurant for Lunch and Dinner. Nice friendly staff. Had a really nice stay.

Reviewer:Hannah S | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Grassington Visit.- Rating 5/5

Excellent stay at the Black Horse hotel,well deserved 5 stars for location,accommodation and a lovely breakfast. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:John L | Fri 10th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Black Horse Hotel - Rating 5/5

We both had a lovely weekend, nice friendly staff,very clean and comfortable bedroom and great food. Thankyou

Reviewer:Annette G | Wed 8th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Great hub for a family reunion - Rating 4/5

Thanks! We were made very welcome and treated to the most wonderful individually cooked breakfasts.

Reviewer:Moira W | Tue 7th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Black Horse Grassington - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, delicious breakfast. Good location for exploring Dales.

Reviewer:David B | Sat 4th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Always a great stay - Rating 5/5

We love the Yorkshire Dales and especially Grassington as it's a good base from which to explore.We came back to the Black Horse Hotel as we had stayed before and knew we'd be in for a warm welcome. On both visits we had our dog with us. He was welcome throughout the pub, even in the restaurant and there was always a biscuit waiting for him at the bar.The hotel has recently had a refit and it looks fantastic now, the rooms are elegant, clean and comfortable.Food and drinks are good quality and well priced. Staff are all very friendly and helpful.We love the Black Horse and will definitely be back....thank you for another great stay!

Reviewer:Sarah M | Thu 2nd Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Overnight stop off - Rating 4/5

Good, clean ,well run hotel. Pleasant staff,good value for money,

Reviewer:David A | Wed 1st Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely overnight stay - Rating 5/5

thoroughly enjoyed our stay, rooms were lovely, staff were friendly,food was nice and dog was welcomed - will definately stay again

Reviewer:M | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


A great hotel in a beautiful location- Rating 5/5

Returned home yesterday from a three night stay with our whippet. We had a large and airy bedroom at the back of the hotel, breakfast was deliciously fresh and after eating in the restaurant the first night we ate there every other night. Lovely and friendly staff who even put our purchases from the farmers market in the hotel fridge for us. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Charlotte C | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Good small group accommodation - Rating 4/5

Started and finished a walking holiday at the Black Horse staying in the bunk room. Comfortable en suite accommodation, good food and excellent breakfast. It's a lively pub at weekends when there is plenty happening in Grassington.

Reviewer:John M | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay , good food and friendly staff, will return

Reviewer:helen l | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


A Happy Weekend - Rating 5/5

I was in the area for a family wedding and my visit was made even more enjoyable by the comfort and high standards at The Black Horse in Grassington.My thanks to all the staff.

Reviewer:Sylvia B | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


4 Ladies Walking Holiday - Rating 5/5

Grassington is a great place to visit especially if you stay at The Black Horse. Lovely room very clean and good food.

Reviewer:B | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our two night stay, staff and food were top class. If we were to be in the area again we would definetly book a room.

Reviewer:Keith R | Wed 18th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We had a excellent stay in this beautiful village. Very friendly staff, we were made to feel very welcome. We stayed with our dog, which was great that it was a truly dog friendly establishment, no restrictions and was able to keep him with us at breakfast was just great. The choice of drinks in the bar was excellent and breakfast was delightful, we will be back to try a steak.

Reviewer:Jason T | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

4 adults had a lovely time in Grassington and The Black Horse was very good, friendly staff good beer and good food. Breakfast was really good.rooms were clean and good tea/coffee etc.

Reviewer:Colin b | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


excellent value - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely time staying with you. The room was lovely and clean. We would have liked breakfast a little earlier but the food was excellent and well presented. We hope to return again soon.

Reviewer:Mrs K | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Very good stay- Rating 5/5

Day, teenage son and father in law visited for a waliking break.Rooms were very clean and provided everything that was needed.Staff were very helpful and a credit to the black Hors.Food was very good from breakfast trough to evening meals in the restaurantAll in all, it was just what we wanted and the prices were reasonable too.Well worth a revisit and highly recommended

Reviewer:Glen B | Sat 14th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel in the middle of grassington village. Helpfully staff and really dog friendly , not like others we have stayed . Rooms are spacious and cleaned to a high standard , breakfast with a good choice , full English, vegetarian, and our choice fresh fruit and yogart with pancakes and syrup. overall real value for money.

Reviewer:Gary S | Sat 14th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel in the middle of grassington village. Helpfull staff and really dog friendly , not like others we have stayed . Rooms are spacious and cleaned to a high standard , breakfast with a good choice , full English, vegetarian, and our choice fresh fruit and yogart with pancakes and syrup. overall real value for money.

Reviewer:Gary S | Sat 14th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


JUDE - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast and were extremely pleased with all aspects. Pleasant atmosphere, staff and high quality breakfast served efficiently.Will recommend to others.

Reviewer:AMANDA J | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Festival goers - Rating 5/5

We booked the Black Horse for Grassington Festival. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it was clean,comfortable and the breakfast was really good. Will definitely return. Great value and staff very helpful and friendly.

Reviewer:D D N | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Black lion - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, lovely area, highly recommended

Reviewer:Simon P | Wed 11th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful Stay at Black Horse, Grassington - Rating 5/5

This is a great hotel with good facilities and friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewer:D | Sun 8th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Very good Pub/hotel. - Rating 4/5

Great friendley staff. Excellent breakfast. All very clean and comfortable.Ideally placed for touring the Yorkshire National Park.

Reviewer:David C | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Great Country Hotel and Brilliant staff. - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 1 week, this hotel has a great atmosphere, lovely rooms, comfy beds and brilliant pub bar and restaurant below. We ate there most nights and the food was always superb. Breakfast in the restaurant area was plentiful and very tasty. The staff throughout the hotel and pub are fantastic...always friendly and helpful. Dogs are very welcome here...the staff and locals love them and made us and George the Greyhound very welcome...we will definitely be back...thank you to all at the Black Horse Hotel.

Reviewer:Paul F | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Friendly, pleasant staff - Rating 4/5

Great central location in the middle of the village with lots of amenities nearby. Clean room.Shower could do with an upgrade but plenty of hot water. Enjoyed our two day stay in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.Lots of lovely walks available to suit all levels of fitness.

Reviewer:Elizabeth H | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


One night in Grassington - Rating 5/5

An excellent night, good atmosphere in the bar and enjoyable evening meal.Room and ensuite newly renovated.Breakfast exceeding expectations with lovely fresh fruit and freshly cooked food. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Margaret B | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Black Horse Hotel Review - Rating 5/5

A thoroughly enjoyable stay, the staff very helpful, the food excellent and a very friendly atmosphere in the bar in the evening.

Reviewer:Mike P | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Rooms were lovely, nice and cool in the heat as it was a hot few days. Food was amazing, we had the pulled port hot dog. Breakfast was great and staff were v helpful and friendly. Will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Lesley W | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Excellent.loveley place and very friendly people .

Reviewer:Aidrian C | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Review for Black Horse Hotel - Rating 5/5

The Black Horse Hotel was a perfect place to stay for a well earned break. It offered rooms that were modern and contemporary and boasts a lovely food service that what will not dissapoint. Surrounded by amazing countryside you have plenty to go and see. You will not be dissapointed with your stay.

Reviewer:Luke S | Mon 25th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Wedding Weekend- Rating 5/5

We were recommended to stay at the Black Horse by a family member. Our stay was made special by the efforts of everyone at the Black Horse , nothing was to much trouble to make us feel very welcome from the time we arrived. We spent a fair amount of time in the bar area 🍺 great beer and a cheerful smile 😊 from breakfast to evening meal the food was excellent once again served by pleasant cheerful staff . Thank you all and we hope to see you all again . Chris & Carol

Reviewer:Chris C | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


birthday week end - Rating 4/5

came here with 8 more friends and 2 dogs and must say what an enjoyable stay. The breakfast up their with the best along with an enjoyable evening meal haved by all.Made the pets so welcome.If i must have a gripe then it would be selection of real ales along with the prices. Ran out of Gin which needs addressing.But over all id give the stay a must so get out there and do it.

Reviewer:Mr M | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Black Horse 14-16 June - Rating 4/5

Perfect location.No problems parking.Good accommodation.Very friendly and helpful staff.Great food and selection of ales / wines.We will return later in the year for another stay. (Albeit in a larger room next time).Grassington is a fabulous little community.

Reviewer:Mal M | Mon 18th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


3 night stay - Rating 4/5

Adequate room, friendly and helpful staff, breakfast menu as one would expect, evening menu good and well presented. What more could one expect, even the weather was good

Reviewer:Mr & mrs J K | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Hiking break - Rating 5/5

We stayed two nights at the Black Horse in the bunk room. Plenty space and clean. Friendly welcome at check-in and excellent breakfast. Parking just in the village square or up the hill behind the town hall. Well stocked bar with plenty local ales on tap and small beer garden to the front. Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Graeme B | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed for a 4 night break and found it very pleasant and relaxing. We have visited Grassington many times in the past and have visited the Black Horse for a drink. We have always expressed a wish to stay at the hotel and now we have, and we were not disappointed. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, the bar area was clean warm and welcoming. The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The breakfasts were lovely and we ate in the restaurant each evening, the food was top class, reasonably priced and the menu had a satisfactory choice. We would certainly stay again without any hesitation

Reviewer:Stephen M | Sat 2nd Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Bank holiday weekend - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights over the May bank holiday. Rooms are of a good standard, well kept and clean. Staff service is good and breakfast is excellent. Must pre book well in advance the evening meal in busy periods, we didnt and couldnt eat there as it was fully booked when we arrived.

Reviewer:Michael E | Tue 29th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely hotel- Great location- Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel, our room had lovely decor, nice bedding, t and good quality towels & toiletries . There are tea & cioffee facilities in the room and also hot chocolate, squash and cookies.Location is great, right in the centre of Grassington village.Food;Good quality, we had dinner here , llovely steak with fresh veggies .Breakfast... good quality, but asked to pre order, in the morning I didn’t feel like a full English so asked to change. That was fine but day 2 I wasn’t asked and served the light breakfast... I was loooking forward to a full English.My only negative was the room, (6) has no windows but skylights about 12 ft up. There is a pole for opening & closing windows but very hard to use. However, NO BLINDS ! It was light by 5 .15 am and the room was flooded with light. I would stay here againit really is nice .....but NOT room 6 in the summer time .

Reviewer:Nick A | Mon 21st May 2018 | 6 months ago


Nice Hotel- Great location- Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel, our room had lovely decor, nice bedding, t and good quality towels & toiletries . There are tea & cioffee facilities in the room and also hot chocolate, squash and cookies.Location is great, right in the centre of Grassington village.Food;Good quality, we had dinner here , llovely steak with fresh veggies .Breakfast... good quality, but asked to pre order, in the morning I didn’t feel like a full English so asked to change. That was fine but day 2 I wasn’t asked and served the light breakfast... I was loooking forward to a full English.My only negative was the room, (6) has no windows but skylights about 12 ft up. There is a pole for opening & closing windows but very hard to use. However, NO BLINDS ! It was light by 5 .15 am and the room was flooded with light. I would stay here againit really is nice .....but NOT room 6 in the summer time .

Reviewer:Nick A | Mon 21st May 2018 | 6 months ago


Worth a visit - Rating 5/5

Really lovely location with great walks and countryside to enjoy

Reviewer:Mark R | Fri 18th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed for a weekend in mid May. Location was great for a lovely walk taking in some of the Dales Way. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. Our room whilst compactwas very comfortable and would recommend the black horse to others looking to stay in Grassington

Reviewer:Joanna B | Mon 14th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Black Horse Hotel - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome, lovely friendly hotel.Every thing you need in one place. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Reviewer:Margaret M | Fri 11th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Great Location - Rating 5/5

Extremely hospitable and friendly staff. Nice clean room and comfy bed. We enjoyed the range of draught beers and had a superb meal. Thank you.

Reviewer:Richard B | Wed 9th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Coast to coast cycle stopover - Rating 5/5

15 of us (married men mainly in 40's and 50's) stayed on Saturday 5th May. As it was bank holiday, normal policy is for minimum 2 night stay, but as there was a large group Pip was ok for us to stay 1 night if we ate in the restaurant.Rooms were clean and comfortable, the evening meal and breakfast were both fantastic, the hake I had on the Saturday night was delicious.Staff were all very helpful and made us all feel welcome.Good selection of beers in a great location in the middle of a lovely village.Would definitely recommend, and will be staying again.

Reviewer:Adrian E | Wed 9th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Coast to coast cycle stopover - Rating 5/5

15 of us (married men mainly in 40's and 50's) stayed on Saturday 5th May. As it was bank holiday, normal policy is for minimum 2 night stay, but as there was a large group Pip was ok for us to stay 1 night if we ate in the restaurant.Rooms were clean and comfortable, the evening meal and breakfast were both fantastic, the hake I had on the Saturday night was delicious.Staff were all very helpful and made us all feel welcome.Good selection of beers in a great location in the middle of a lovely village.Would definitely recommend, and will be staying again.

Reviewer:Adrian E | Wed 9th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Great short break hotel - Rating 5/5

Great room, great food, great location and friendly staff made this an excellent short break.

Reviewer:Lewis B | Tue 8th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

I booked this room for visiting relatives and their feedback has been sought as well.An extremely welcoming smile and greeting on arrival set the tone for the remainder of the visit.From start to finish everyone was friendly without being intrusive.The room was well appointed, clean and well stocked with everything that one would normally expect in a suite at a large chain hotel.As we all ate there in the evening and typically everyone ordered something different for starters, main course and dessert a short delay would have been acceptable but no everything was served swiftly, piping hot (except for the ice cream!) and was tasty.Breakfast was also great with an excellent choice of items to indulge in.Particularly impressive was the range of homemade or locally sourced items available right down to the jams and marmalades for the toast.Parking is limited but there are plenty of options within a short walk of the hotel, come to think of it everything is within a short walk of the hotel.Would my guests stay there again?Absolutely and they would recommend the Black Horse to anyone who will stand still long enough to listen!

Reviewer:Debs - C | Mon 7th May 2018 | 6 months ago


weekend 27/29th april- Rating 4/5

Good Morningthe weekend was made perfect by the hotel & its staff...... excellent service, clean rooms, hearty breakfast - need I say moreThank you

Reviewer:David L | Wed 2nd May 2018 | 6 months ago


Grand days out - Rating 5/5

What a lovely hotel. The room was nice and comfy with plenty of room for our dogs bed. Food was very good. The bar was well stocked, complete with five cask ales all bar one been a local brew. The staff and service were excellent and made us feel welcome and wanting to come back.

Reviewer:Mr T | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


William Oxley Bryan- Rating 5/5

It was a lovely and friendly guest house staff was fantastic room's exelnt would recommend itf to anyone

Reviewer:Mr William O | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Family break - Rating 4/5

My parents and I stayed for two nights at the Black Horse and were made very welcome. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and courteous. The food was very good, the breakfast especially delicious. I would not hesitate to return or to recommend The Black Horse in Grassington to others.

Reviewer:Stephen I | Sat 28th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Black Horse Grassington- Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Black Horse a number of times and it just keeps getting better. Accommodation great, meals great staff fantastic.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher S | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Weekend in Grassington - Rating 4/5

The Blackhorse proved an ideal place to stay for a family meet up in Grassington. In spite of its central location and lively atmosphere in the bar we had no trouble getting a great night's sleep. Food, both breakfast and bar meals and snacks were efficiently provided and good. All staff were friendly and welcoming with a helpful attitude whatever we asked for. We'd certainly consider it again for a similar weekend.

Reviewer:Helen G | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


lovely weekend break - Rating 5/5

lovely clean rooms. staff very friendly. food was very good both on an evening and at breakfast. In all an very nice break

Reviewer:Annette M | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Fabulous place- Rating 5/5

This was our first time in Grassington and Black Horse was our 1st choice in accommodation. What a fantastic choice it was, fabulous room, food and brilliant staff. Made both us and our Bulldog extremely welcome couldn't of wished for a better place to stay. 😁Will definitely visit again.We have already recommend to friends.

Reviewer:Beverley W | Thu 19th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Lovely Dog Friendly Hotel - Rating 4/5

We have just stayed at this hotel with our dog and have had a lovely time here.The staff were warm and friendly.The room was clean and fresh.We had lunch and dinner in the bar / restaurant and the food was well presented and very tasty.Located right in the village centre it was ideal.If I am back in the area I would definitely stay here again.As the area was so beautiful I suspect I will be going back.

Reviewer:Judy B | Mon 26th Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Nice place to stay - Rating 4/5

Nice clean bedroom and well cooked food. Beer very good! Great location. Would recommend it!

Reviewer:Geoff F | Wed 14th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Perfect as always- Rating 5/5

Stayed in room 1 on March 1st, lovely room, clean, warm, comfy beds. Food delicious, fajitas were the best I’ve had. Friendly staff.. see you again

Reviewer:sandra b | Sat 3rd Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


A wonderful find - Rating 5/5

My wife and I were visiting the Yorkshire Dales for the first time and picked The Black Horse at random;I'm so glad we did.We had a hellish drive getting there (blizzard came in, cars spinning off the road) and so were desperately hoping it'd be worth the tense drive... it absolutely was.First-off, Grassington is beautiful. It's the quintessential picture-perfect English village. The buildings are great, the views are stunning.Then the hotel itself was fantastic. Staff were incredibly helpful, ales in the pub were great - we bantered with the locals. And both meals we ate at the restaurant were brilliant. Not just good pub food, but good foodie food.Can't recommend this place enough, I just wish we'd been able to stay longer.

Reviewer:Sam P | Sat 24th Feb 2018 | 8 months ago


5* Weekend - Rating 5/5

Just stayed at the beautifully renovated Black Horse in Grassington. Perfect situation just off the Main Street no problem parking behind the town hall both evening. Allocated room 14 on check in top floor cosy room with a good view from the window. Lovely room all bathroom amenities and loved the hot chocolate as well as tea and coffee. Booked evening meal first evening great value for money and the bar area is superbly done out. Liked the idea of choosing breakfast night before and allocate table in the dining room. All in all 5* stay can’t wait to return

Reviewer:Karen R | Mon 19th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Black horse hotel - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely break the hotel and staff are warm and friendly food excellent.Thankyou

Reviewer:Helen S | Sun 11th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Very enjoyable - Rating 5/5

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the ales were excellent.We were made to feel very welcome and so way our Staffie called Blue.Will definately return for another visit soon.

Reviewer:Martin C | Fri 9th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Great Find - Rating 5/5

Great find. Spotless accommodation, with brilliant staff delivering excellent customer service. We had both lunch and evening meal enjoying home cooked food of a height standard. Great value for money We will return Thank you

Reviewer:susan R | Wed 7th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


top weekend in the dales- Rating 5/5

we stayed Friday-Monday, for the winter break deal, absolute top value, they really have worked hard at this hotel with recently refurbishing the bar and dining area ,now a top modern placeto have a drink or eat in , the food was second to none and the rooms were kept to a top standard, we will definitely stay again ,thanks again for a top stay

Reviewer:MR TONY T | Tue 6th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Great Country Inn - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Black Horse Hotel at the beginning of Feb 18.The room was lovely, the bed comfortable and breakfast very good.The bar is warm and welcoming and the staff are very helpful. We don't own a dog but it was great to see dog owners being able to bring them into the bar area.We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Black Horse and would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Ann F | Mon 5th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Black Horse Grassington- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time. Food was great. Nice clean room and really friendly staff.We,ll definitely return.

Reviewer:Ian J | Wed 20th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Excellent stay- Rating 4/5

A group of us stayed overnight to go walking, well we started with breakfast, then walked, dinner, bed and breakfast. All good, once the radiators has been bled (they had just had the heating system worked upon). Highly recommended

Reviewer:| Mon 18th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Black horse - Rating 5/5

Cannot say a lot about this pub only brilliant from start to finish Staff excellent, landlady and landlord helpful and very nice.Bedroom 1 lovely every thing we required Breakfast first class Ate in restaurant both nights 5star food and service Will be back

Reviewer:james c | Thu 7th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay and will definately return next year. We couldn't fault a thing. Our beds were comfy and rooms very clean and food was out of this world. Amazing special burger. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Thank you so much. Linda & Pat Butler

Reviewer:Linda B | Wed 6th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Dickensian weekend 1sr-4 dec 2017 - Rating 5/5

2nd time stayed at bkack horse hotel,once again had fab time,staff very helpful,food good,rooms comfortable,good atmosphere,woyld recommend this hotel to family and friends

Reviewer:Kim W | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Black horse hotel - Rating 5/5

What a lovely hotel and friendly staff, could not fault it in any way and the food was great, would recommend this hotel

Reviewer:Barbara H | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Wonderful visit - Rating 5/5

All staff were excellent and worked so hard to make our stay perfect. The food is lovely too. Our room was spotless and had lovely towels and bedding.

Reviewer:joan c | Mon 4th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Great stay in Grassington - Rating 5/5

Nice room in smart pub/hotel. Good breakfast and evening meal. No car park but you can park on the National Park car park 5 mins walk away for a reasonable charge.

Reviewer:Richard S | Fri 1st Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Mid week one night break - Rating 5/5

Lovely staff. Lovely meal.Great pub with a roaring fire. What more do you want?Excellent.

Reviewer:gary p | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Great welcoming place to stay - Rating 5/5

From the moment we checked in we were warmly welcomed by everybody we met. The room (double with bath) was warm and comfortable. Having taken an Autumn break, which included a £15 discount per person on the first night's evening meal, we ate in the restaurant. We enjoyed the food and they had no problem in providing for our needs. We would certainly stay here again. The hotel does not have it's own private parking but free parking is available in the Square and elsewhere in the village as well as paid parking a short distance away.

Reviewer:Chris S | Mon 27th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


A very pleasant experience- Rating 5/5

A nice friendly hotel with fabulous service, good food and great entertainment

Reviewer:Brian C | Fri 24th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


A Pleasure - Rating 5/5

Staying at the Black Horse was a lovely experience from the delightful staff to the comfortable modern room. The atmosphere was relaxed and it was a pleasure to stay in a traditional country pub. Spotlessly clean room and public areas.

Reviewer:Michael H | Thu 23rd Nov 2017 | 12 months ago


Great Stay , yet again - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have visited (about 6th for friends we were with) The rooms were freshly decorated and clean.the Breakfasts are great and as usual the staff were very attentive and friendly.

Reviewer:Helen S | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 12 months ago


First time- Rating 4/5

We had an enjoyable short break in Grassington staying at the Black Horse.From start to finish the staff were very pleasant and helpful,our room was fine a comfortable bed for a good nights sleep after three pints of Black Sheep.We ate in the restaurant and I would recommend the sausage and mash.The breakfast was spot on a good start to the day.

Reviewer:PETER L | Wed 15th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


What a Fantastic Place - Rating 5/5

I feel I should keep quiet about this place so that I can keep it for myself but I'm sure many people have already discovered what a wonderful place the Black horse is.Great location, Great rooms and great staff.

Reviewer:Philip H | Mon 13th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Fab base from which to explore the Dales - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Black Horse Hotel in order to attend a family wedding at nearby Barden Tower. Evening meal on day of arrival was delicious with an interesting range of dishes available on the menu - spoilt for choice. A hearty well-prepared breakfast ensured we were ready for the day ahead. Our room was warm and comfortable and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Full marks all round, in fact.

Reviewer:Julie T | Mon 13th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Stay and Food - Rating 5/5

Stayed on Saturday evening for one night. Greeted and welcomed by friendly staff who remained friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Room 15 on the top floor was clean and comfortable and had great views over the main square. Great atmosphere in the bar area and lovely decor and ambience in the restaurant. Plenty of meal choices and we thoroughly enjoyed the steak pie and chicken fajitas. Well cooked and presented. Breakfast was equally good with plenty of options. Location of the Black Horse in the centre of Grassington ideal and parking available nearby.

Reviewer:Alsion K | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Stayed 2 nights 3-5th Nov - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay room very comfortable good food service fantastic could not have asked for anything more Thanks to you all

Reviewer:mrs audrey patricia c | Mon 6th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

Lovely one night stay, brilliant food. We, and our dog were made to feel very welcome.Will be visiting again

Reviewer:| Thu 2nd Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Best the Yorkshire Dales has to offer!! - Rating 5/5

Best place of this kind we have stayed in. Grassington is one of the prettiest, cleanest and friendliest the Yorkshire Dales has to offer. Nearly all the locals we passed in the street took time to see if we were having a nice time. The Black Horse is by far the best place to stay for bed, breakfast and evening meals. The whole place is spotlessly clean, has courteous and friendly staff and great (and I do mean GREAT!) food which can be eaten in their restaurant or the pub area. Nothing is too much trouble for them either! Would recommend to anyone without hesitation.

Reviewer:Pamela H | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night as my husband was cycling the Way of the Roses. Really helpful and friendly staff, good atmosphere in the pub and excellent food. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The bonus for my husband was that they locked his bike away overnight for him! Wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

Reviewer:Tracey A | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Chilled weekend - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Black Horse for 2 nights. King room was clean with comfortable bed and very quiet. Had breakfast which was lovely both mornings and also ate there one evening and again great food. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location for viewing the surrounding area, would recommend

Reviewer:Jo H | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous weekend break- Rating 5/5

Just returned from a fabulous weekend break in at the Black Horse in Grassington.Travelled with our dog who was made very welcome, we even had our own table in the restaurant that our dog could join us while we ate breakfast/dinner.Lovely hotel, great bar & restaurant serving lovely food.Location perfect for exploring the surrounding Dales.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:JEANETTE B | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Weekend- Rating 4/5

We stayed for family weekend had a lovely stay, very comfortable, friendly staff, food delicious and very well presented. We would certainly stay again

Reviewer:Catherine B | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay in lovely Dales village - Rating 4/5

Friendly service and congenial atmosphere

Reviewer:Sarah K | Sat 28th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Autumn short stay in the dales - Rating 4/5

Despite cloud low cloud and drizzle, our 3 days walking in the dales was all the better for the hospitality from all the staff at the Black Horse. It has a warm and welcoming atmosphere and staying in the bar is a good bet as the atmosphere is livelier. Both drink and food are of a good quality and the burgers deserve special mention. Rooms are pleasant and clean though the shower was rather small. Location is excellent and we managed to park in the village square or nearby without too much trouble. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Stephen H | Fri 27th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect all round - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 2 night stay. Hotel very appealing to look at and the staff were very friendly and accommodating (even to our dog) Room was comfortable, clean and warm. Located ideally for all the lovely shops in Grassington. Will definitely return at some point.

Reviewer:Mervyn B | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Warm and welcoming- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel set in a beautiful village, on arrival we were quickly checked in and our room was cosy and clean. We were extremely happy it was a dog friendly hotel as nice ones are hard to find! The food was also very good.

Reviewer:Jenny G | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Our first stay at the Black Horse would highly recommend everyone was so friendly , food was excellent rooms comfortable and very clean will definately return.

Reviewer:Pauline M | Mon 23rd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Help in hour of need - Rating 4/5

Found myself at another property that i had booked which had closed after taking my booking. telephoned the Black Horse who were able to accommodate me at short notice, room was good size and food was very nice also. thanks

Reviewer:Marcus B | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly country pub - Rating 5/5

Friendly central pub excellent staff

Reviewer:Jean N | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Quality Hotel At Affordable Price - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night during a walking holiday. The double room was a good size spotlessly clean as was the en-suite bathroom which had a quality shower over a lovely deep bath.We dined here in the evening, the menu was extensive with something to suit every taste at reasonable prices. Breakfast was great, again with lots of choices the cooked English we had was served piping hot. Only minor negative is that there is no parking facilities but there is a car park about 3 mins walk away. All in all highly recommended

Reviewer:Mr Brian S | Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay in a lovely village with very friendly and helpful staff

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel F | Thu 21st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


1940\'s Weekend - Rating 5/5

This is the first time we have stayed in Grassington and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. From the time we arrived until the time we left, all the staff where so welcoming and helpful and the food was fab. We are going to return next year.

Reviewer:Jacqueline B | Tue 19th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Black Horse Hotel - Rating 5/5

As always....EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!

Reviewer:Jim E | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Great breakfast - Rating 4/5

Stayed here for one night.Double bedroom adequate but compact and clean.Parking may be a problem for some as the hotel does not have its own area but we managed to get a space about 2 minutes walk away.Breakfast was very good, amazing fruit salad with no less than seven types of fruit, full English cooked to order and as much toast as you could eat.A lovely village and very friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Mrs Ann S | Sat 16th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice break - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, very friendly staff, cheerful always ready to help, very nice rooms clean and tidy and not cluttered great on suite.Food was excellent and night time entertainment was good.Would stay again.

Reviewer:IAN L | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Charming hotel - Rating 4/5

Lovely hotel, good breakfast and service.

Reviewer:Sue T | Wed 6th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 4/5

The staff are really friendly and helpful nothing is to much trouble for them the accommodation is very clean and tidy and food really good only issue the room we had was a bit small as we had our large Ridgeback dog with us we have stayed before and had a larger roombut the stay was great

Reviewer:Janice G | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Made for a great Bank Holiday Sunday - Rating 4/5

A really pleasant stay. Friendly, helpful staff and good accommodation, Nice restaurant serves an excellent rib eye steak and spare ribs, plus a good pint of Hetton Pale Ale.What's not to like.Would recommendRegards

Reviewer:Paul W | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

The hotel was in keeping with the rest of the town.Very friendly staff, excellent food and comfortable accommodation. My only slight negative point was the difficulty parking, but that was no fault of the hotel. Would definitely revisit if travelling that way again.

Reviewer:Simon H | Sun 27th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend in the Dales - Rating 4/5

Twin room very nice, facilities very good, shower excellent.No parking at the hotel and very limited parking in the square, easier to park in the NCP about a 5 minute walk away. Pre ordered breakfast excellent, very good choice and of good quality.Service exceptional, would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Janet H | Thu 24th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Nicely decorated. Food is very good. Staff are helpful and friendly. The Black Horse is clean and well kept. The only slight downside was the mattress wasn't too comfy.

Reviewer:Ruth G | Wed 23rd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


review - Rating 4/5

Delightful hotel with excellent food. Very pleasant staff. Hope to visit again.

Reviewer:Penelope Jane B | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Brilliant Weekend - Rating 5/5

We visited the Black Horse Hotel for a long family weekend (3 nights). There were 5 adults plus a little dog staying in 3 rooms. Although very small the bedrooms were very clean and tidy and the beds were super comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of dishes and the eveningmeal we had in the restaurant was excellent. The breakfast and restaurant staff are very helpful and friendly and can't seem to do enough for you. The bar (we spent a fair bit of time in there as the weather was pretty poor for August) has plenty comfortable seating and a lovely warm atmosphere together with a good selection of real ales and decent wine too.The hotel is in the most perfect position right in the heart of Grassington village but be warned it does not have its own parking although we did manage to get parked quite close by over night. All in all we had a lovely stay at the Black Horse Hotel and we can't wait to go back.

Reviewer:Neill R | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Quality B and B - Rating 5/5

Clean and comfortable with a good breakfast. Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere in the pub. Had evening meal and took part in the quiz. Nice local real ale.

Reviewer:Ian D | Fri 18th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Way of the Roses overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Booked the Black Horse for an overnight stay for our party of five, with four cycles. We were pleasantly impressed when we checked in, with not only the attractive exterior, but the rooms themselves, which were immaculate.We had our dinner at the hotel which was plentiful, tasty, and good value.Our four bikes were squeezed into the cellar at the rear of the hotel where the drinks are stored, so there was not a great deal of room for many more.It is imperative that you mention when booking the amount of cycles.The hotel doesn't have any dedicated parking, so you have to take a chance in the middle of the village, keeping an eye out for a space when you can.The main part of Grassington is lovely, very picturesque.All in all, a short but lovely stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Graeme S | Thu 17th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Good stay. - Rating 4/5

Comfortable, clean, good food, friendly helpful staff.

Reviewer:Elizabeth G | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


The Black Horse, Grassington - Rating 5/5

My friend and I stayed here for one night in a twin room.We were made to feel very welcome from the word go.The room was lovely, spotlessly clean with comfy beds.Lovely toiletries and towels provided.The food was fantastic, gorgeous breakfast.I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Sally T | Sat 12th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Short stay in Grassington - Rating 5/5

Myself, my Wife and her friend had a excellent stay at this hotel.The Staff were very good to say the least, very professional and attentive.The room was very clean and the breakfast hearty.I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Reviewer:Paul M | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Bigger inside than it looks - Rating 4/5

Nicely furnished and decorated room. Nice big shower with substantial water pressure to give you a good soaking. Very nice breakfast. Informative welcome and useful info card given on check in. Ideally located right in middle of the village.

Reviewer:Kevin M | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great location- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, good room, comfy bed and excellent breakfast. We needed to check in early and staff at the black horse were helpful, friendly and accommodating.

Reviewer:Amanda O | Sat 5th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


A very good stay with slight reservation - Rating 4/5

Very attentive staff, fantastic breakfast, well appointed bedroom with all the requisits there. Only drawback was size of bed (for two large people !) we should have booked a kingsize bedroom ! Otherwise excellent.

Reviewer:Allan K | Wed 2nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great little hotel - Rating 5/5

Great location for a trip to The Yorkshire Dales. Staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Great food to

Reviewer:Karen R | Sat 29th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Tranquil village - Rating 4/5

Had s excellent stay here , double room on 2nd floor beware if not young on feet . Proper pub atmosphere great restaurant area good food , polite staff throughout , request flowers on arrival in room top dollar

Reviewer:Simon M | Sat 29th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


long weekend away - Rating 5/5

just returned from this amazing place...the hotel is lovely..staff excellent very attentive room was very clean, nicely decorated we ate in the restaurant every night and the food was lovely freshly cooked and a good choice of menu..only downside is no car park but we parked on a street just a 5 minute walk from hotel and it did not spoil our break and would recommend very highly

Reviewer:deirdre h | Wed 26th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent stay, good room great food very comfortable and quiet on a night which was super. many thanks to all the staff the dog loved it too.

Reviewer:Kevin M | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great find! - Rating 4/5

great food for both evening meal & breakfast, we had a twin room that was also great and a bunk room - beds rather creaky. One suggestion for improvement would be to start breakfast earlier on a Saturday

Reviewer:Dave P | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice friendly pub with good rooms - Rating 5/5

Was a great place to stop on our Way of the Roses bike ride. Friendly staff, good rooms, lots of hot water, nice food, lively bar. Everything you need really

Reviewer:Mr. Rupert S | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend away with family - Rating 4/5

Welcoming, clean, comfortable hotel. Great food and beer.

Reviewer:Kathryn W | Mon 17th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and convenient - Rating 4/5

The hotel provided an excellent starting and finishing point for our walk along the Dales Innway with our dog.The room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was well done. Staff friendly and helpful and gave Elska loads of treats!

Reviewer:Tim Gatenby| Mon 17th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Black Horse Hotel Grassington - Rating 5/5

this is the 3rd time we've stayed here and it won't be the last, the black horse is as friendly a place as you could want and a typical welcoming pub, i just wish it was my local.Comfy bedroom with comfy pillows so a very good nights sleep, lovely and clean with fresh towels.we were B& B and the breakfast in the morning was as good as we've had anywhere and it was always piping hot, i hate luke warm breakfast so no complaints there at all.overall its a great place to stay, i'd say the best in Grassington, and we will definitely will stay there again

Reviewer:Ideal AV L | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely weekend away- Rating 4/5

Me and my partner stopped here recently for 2nights. The staff were friendly and accommodating, we had food in the restraunt which was lovely. Skipton is only a 20min drive from the b& b and a lovely day out with lots to see and do. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Nicole M | Mon 10th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely staff. Warm welcome. Good food. Good value. Will be back.

Reviewer:C | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Simply the best in Grassington! - Rating 5/5

A lovely welcome. Taste fully refurbished room a d very comfortable. Breakfast menu to suit taste and excellent bacon and black pudding!! Dinner menu and food absolutely great. Nothing is too much trouble here.....after lovely walk we even managed the racing on large screen with a bottle of prossecco. Life doesnot get much better. Have stayed before and will do sgain. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer:Mrs. evelyn b | Wed 5th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lady Anne Way Hike - Rating 5/5

The bunk room that our party stayed in was very comfortable with fresh bedding, and there was plenty of room for all of our hiking tackle. The hotel staff are very helpful and professional, offering a first class service.The Black Horse Hotel is situated in the centre of Grassington, so it is ideal for accessing the local amenities and the Dales countryside surrounding it.

Reviewer:Mr R C | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Back to the good old days- Rating 5/5

We have been going to Grassington for the last 35 years staying at different places.It's nice to say the Black horse has returned to what it was 20 years ago to when Ray ran the hotel.We will definitely be staying again.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs David H | Sun 2nd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Good pub. Good service - Rating 5/5

Welcome and service was excellent, much better than the Devonshire!Beer good. Food quick and reasonable.Room clean, comfortable and modern.Bathroom good however could do with some better water pressure in the shower.Breakfast was well organised and good quality.Only downside was noise from people at end of the night when trying to sleep.Overall would stay again.

Reviewer:Hannah M | Sat 1st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent hostelry - Rating 5/5

Apart from no parking at hotel everything else was excellent , great position in town , friendly staff, great food, comfortable bed.

Reviewer:peter h | Sat 1st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Homely - Rating 4/5

Situated in the middle of the village four of us visited to see one of the Music Festival events. Walking into the pub we were immediately struck by the buzz and the charm of the labarynth of rooms, a veritable Tardis. We were warmly welcomed and our rooms were well presented, good shower, goodsized and comfortable bed and all very clean. If there was a disappointment it was a little too cold and the heating turned off bUt normally in June this isn't a problem and the week before could possibly have been uncomfortably hot. The bar area was very busy andwe only just managed to find a seat so we could have an evening meal. My fish and chips was on the disappointingly small side but my wife enjoyed her risotto very much. We had a good breakfast and pre-ordering meant a prompt service.

Reviewer:Richard A | Fri 30th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend for 10 adults in bunk rooms- Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic weekend with excellent service .Our rooms were very clean and comfortable with , plentiful tea and coffee .The full English breakfast was also very good.I had to amend the booking at short notice and this was dealt with promptly and in a helpful manner .All in all 10/10 for our stay and at a very reasonable rate.Thankyou . We'll see you again !

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie T | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


grassington - Rating 4/5

fab location for everything!Very comfy stay and super breakfast.Nothing a bother.Thank you

Reviewer:Joyce C | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Grassed up - Rating 5/5

Staff polite and friendlyRoom comfortable and clean. Food very good.Public areas very cleanGood outdoor areaVery nice village for short stay, with excellent access to Yorkshire Dales - many walks from doorstep.Parking could be a potential problem.

Reviewer:Katrina G | Thu 22nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


A good dog friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

A good dog friendly hotel, staff were very helpful and enjoyed the stay. Parking not good with only the market square if you are lucky to find a space.

Reviewer:Mr M E | Sat 17th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


A good dog friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

A good dog friendly hotel, staff were very helpful and enjoyed the stay. Parking not good with only the market square if you are lucky to find a space.

Reviewer:Mr M E | Sat 17th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely accomodation in beautiful setting - Rating 4/5

Very comfy bed and great view from our window (room 15).Good food.Lovely staff and excellent service. Will stay again

Reviewer:Patricia J | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Very dog friendly - Rating 5/5

A lovely stay. Clean room, good food, well kept beer. Excellent place to stay with dogs.

Reviewer:Shona D | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Our stay at black horse - Rating 5/5

Great little bnb food was excellent staff were friendly good relaxed atmosphere in the bar and the room was spot on! Reccomend to all!! Definatley staying again!!

Reviewer:Simon C | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 4/5

The hotel had a lovely friendly atmosphere. The room was spacious, clean and fresh and the bathroom too was a good size with a great shower. Our only minor issue was the bunk beds which were very noisy every time one moved in the bed.The breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. Overall an excellent stay. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pauline J | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


holiday - Rating 5/5

exelant well looked after will stayagain

Reviewer:Mrs SP F | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


very nce - Rating 4/5

very nice staff, delicious breakfast, great location. nice view from our window. Room on a bit of a tilt (only a little bit - and full of character, considering that the inn was built in 1650 or so!)

Reviewer:lynn v | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely hotel- Rating 5/5

This hotel suited our needs for a 2 night stay on a b& b basis. Breakfast was delicious, compliments to the chef, spotlessly clean throughout the hotel, well done to the cleaning staff. Enjoyed the pub quiz! All staff friendly and welcoming. Grassington village is a lovely village, with a variety of shops, bars/restaurants, a great base for exploring the Peak District.

Reviewer:Debra N | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly, comfortable hotel in the heart of Grassington - Rating 4/5

Good sized, nicely decorated and comfortable room;welcoming, helpful, friendly staff. Good value and location. A great base for exploring the Dales and surrounding area.

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor D | Tue 30th May 2017 | 1 year ago


First timet - Rating 5/5

Very quaint hotel, lovely and adequate room, excellent food and customer service, very efficient bathroom,easy parking facilities.

Reviewer:Will P | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


black horse hotel- Rating 5/5

great place to stay will definately return thankyou josh tobi and your wonderful staff

Reviewer:Wanda G | Sat 20th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Base For A Cycling Holiday - Rating 5/5

I stayed in a twin room as part of a cycling club trip to the Dales. The room was comfortable and clean, the food was great, the staff even put on an early breakfast for a few of us wanting to set out early and there was a great selection of draft ales in the bar.Would definately stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Ian W | Tue 16th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Very enjoyable evening. - Rating 5/5

We just stayed for one evening with our little dog. We had just finished a very nice meal when a group of guitar and ukelele players came in and set up. They were very talented and great fun and made the evening a lively and special one. This hotel is very warm and welcoming, serves good food and provides a lovely room for the night. Should we be in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Reviewer:Mrs B L | Wed 10th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Dalesway stop-over - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable and convenient overnighter for the Dalesway.

Reviewer:Mr. Tim B | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 1 year ago


Wharfdale v Caldy - Rating 5/5

We were in Grassington for the rugby match and once again chose the Black Horse as our base. It offers quality twin rooms which are not always available locally. As usual, an excellent breakfast and friendly, reliableservice so without doubt we'll be returning.

Reviewer:David J | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Black Horse having walked from Ilkley to Grassington with our dog.The staff are friendly and the atmosphere in the bar area was good.The room was very clean and very nicely presented and the bed was really comfortable.Our family came to meet us for a meal, everyone enjoyed the food. We had a lovely stay and would recommend the Black Horse.

Reviewer:Michaela H | Fri 21st Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent service and very dog friendly - Rating 5/5

We stayed for four nights in the black horse. The breakfast was good- piping hot and served quickly;the bar had a good selection of ales;the room was big and clean. We took our Labrador with us and the room was big enough for him, he also allowed in all rooms and there were doggy treats for him in the bar! Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the location is an ideal base for walks to Hebden, Linton and Grassington Woods. Skipton is 15 mins drive, Harrogate about 20 mins.

Reviewer:Michelle J | Wed 19th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, fabulous food, lovely room and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend to anyone. See you again soon!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sally T | Tue 18th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Dickensian wk end - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the black horse for the Dickensian wk end. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The bar area was a lovely warm place to sit and have a drink or meal in front of log fire great on a cold day as it was probably the worst weather ever but never got us down. The restaurant was very nice food was well presented and at at a fair price we ate in the restaurant a few times. The double ensuite room was very warm and clean he shower was great as it was a nice hot mixer shower which was very clean and user friendly. The only problem we had was the mattress was a little to soft but that is personal choice overall a great hotel and will certainly be booking to stay there again. Many thanks for a great stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen M | Sun 6th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


good place to stay - Rating 5/5

Just had a lovely short break at the Black horse. Our dog was made very welcome and so were we. Nice clean and simply furnished rooms and a great breakfast.Lovely area to stay and superb walks, we will definatly be staying there again.

Reviewer:Ms. Gaynor H | Thu 20th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Grassington at its best. - Rating 5/5

A nicely refurbished hotel with a very friendly ambience. Excellent food. Good service by friendly staff. Altogether a pleasant and enjoyable place to stay.

Reviewer:Roger B | Sun 16th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Fantastic ***** - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic stay at the Black Horse Hotel John was a wonderful host the rooms were very clean and the place its self so friendly. Didnt want to leave and would deffinatley recommend this to anyone visiting Grassington.

Reviewer:Karen-Anne H | Tue 27th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Way of the Roses cycle trip - Rating 5/5

Great location in beatiful village along the route, perfect stopping distance after Day 1 of 3 on Way of the Roses cycle route.Bunk room accomodation very clean and comfortable and reasonably pricedLovely evening meal in pub with good selection of local beers which suited our group just fine.Excellent choice for breakfast the next day all superbly cookedgreat stop of point for cycliststhanks again

Reviewer:David H | Mon 26th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Black Horse Hotel - Rating 5/5

The Black Horse Hotel in Grassington is a lovely place to stay with an excellent kitchen served. Rooms are nicely designed and very comfortable. We enjoyed every minute.

Reviewer:Ulrich & Judith S | Wed 7th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


very good - Rating 4/5

Good place to be, to walk en enjoy the landscape.Good breakfast en very good dinerWe loved staying in your hotelfam Haverkamp from The Netherlands

Reviewer:Mrs. Wilmien H | Wed 7th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


cycling - Rating 4/5

Nice clean and comfortable rooms with a well cooked full english break fast

Reviewer:Kevin M | Mon 5th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


mrs moses - Rating 4/5

room was beautifully clean, however a little on the small side for a family. Very comfy beds, very warm and welcoming staff and a fantastic breakfast. Would recommend to friends.

Reviewer:M | Mon 5th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


GOOD PLACE - Rating 4/5

FRIENDLYRECENTLY MODERNISEDGOOD VALUE

Reviewer:Mr. Van M | Tue 30th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time at the Black Horse Hotel. The room, meals and host were excellent.Beautiful village and breathtaking scenery along the local walks.It was a very relaxing break - just what we were looking for!Would definitely recommend it.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine S | Fri 26th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


A SUPER WEEKEND - Rating 4/5

This is a clean friendly hotel with superb staff and a landlord who is very entertaining. even if the bar staff do not appreciate his singing.We would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a good bed and a fine breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark D | Tue 23rd Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


BLACK HORSE - Rating 5/5

ENJOYED OUR STAY CAN HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Reviewer:Chris T | Tue 23rd Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 4/5

We found the black horse to be comfortable although the room was a little small. The recent Refurb has given the bar a more modern feel.The breakfast was lovely. All the staff were friendly & nothing was to much trouble.Would definately stay again

Reviewer:Julie R | Mon 22nd Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


3 night break - Rating 4/5

We stayed 3 nights Aug 8/9/10th. On arrival found we were booked in 2nd floor room and my wife having breathing problems could not manage the stairs. Staff were very accommodating and even though they were full managed to find us a room on 1st floor which was fine. There was work going on in the hotel which restricted the evening meal menus (no a la carte).In spite of this, and it would appear staff working under difficult conditions,we were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Reviewer:Bob S | Sun 21st Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Black Horse Hotel - Rating 5/5

Friendly and helpful staff,great food and spotlessly clean room.Very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian M | Sun 14th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


A lovely mid week break - Rating 4/5

Our stay at The Black Horse was very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and the meals were excellent. It was a pity that we chose the week when the bar was being re-fitted but this did not stop us enjoying an evening drink. We would like to return to see the new bar in all its glory ! !

Reviewer:Mrs C | Sat 6th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


A lovely mid week break - Rating 4/5

Our stay at The Black Horse was very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and the meals were excellent. It was a pity that we chose the week when the bar was being re-fitted but this did not stop us enjoying an evening drink. We would like to return to see the new bar in all its glory ! !

Reviewer:Mrs C | Sat 6th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Stay at Black horse hotel - Rating 4/5

Our room was very comfortable and we had all the amentities that we required;TV, nice hot and clean shower. The hotel is well located and the staff were happy to assist with all our needs for us;mother and daughter with our dog.

Reviewer:Sarah E | Thu 4th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


A Boy Named Sue - Rating 5/5

A great little hotel in the lovely village of Grassington - a perfect base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Our group of 8 adult male walkers received a warm welcome and were well looked after during our long weekend stay. The rooms were basic but good and clean, the breakfasts hearty and the pub grub delicious. Excellent value for money. Would definitely return!

Reviewer:James D | Sun 24th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Great Place to stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly people, nice food, nice pint, rooms comfortable and clean.

Reviewer:H | Tue 19th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Skylight room review - Rating 3/5

Skylight Room needs a window - very claustrophobic. Lovely people, lovely breakfast and evening bars.

Reviewer:Mr H | Mon 18th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


3 night stay - Rating 4/5

A good hotel. Room v. clean and comfortable with immacculat bathroom. Breakfasts excellent and all staff v. friendly and helpful.Only downside was no parking and it was a long pull up the hill with a case to the free parking area.

Reviewer:Richard H | Sat 9th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Little Gem - Rating 4/5

Two nights spent at The Black Horse were delightful. Rooms comfortable and well appointed,food and wine very good and the service was excellent.A very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Will return!

Reviewer:Mrs. Pauline W | Fri 8th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Bike Ride - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay, perfectly comfortable for the price. On a cross country bike ride and staff opened up for breakfast an hour early to accomodate our early start so many thanks.

Reviewer:Tom G | Thu 7th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent - Rating 4/5

Thank you, you made me feel very welcome, all staff were polite and friendly.Can't fault you.Not sure how to indicate this in the star rating below, but call it 4. (no car park)

Reviewer:Anthony G | Wed 6th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent Hotel! - Rating 5/5

This is a nice hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Tareq A | Tue 5th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Great place, great food, great everything - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night in a twin room - well furnished to a good spec. The bar/restaurant area is an old building with lots of character, and the full English breakfast we were served was fantastic - all local ingredients and cooked to perfection, I would highly recommend The Black Horse for this alone! We felt the price was very fair and all the staff and the landlord were very welcoming and friendly, great customer service. All in all, I would highly recommend and would definitely stay there again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Carole R | Wed 29th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


good stop on the way of the roses - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable rooms, good tasty breakfasts and we had live jazz on the night we stayedHad a good meal there in the evening. The manager went out of his way to solve a problem for us.

Reviewer:Ray V | Sat 18th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


The Black Horse, Grassington - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and helpful staff. Service was excellent, good food and beer, plus the rooms were comfortable. Stay there!

Reviewer:Keith P | Mon 13th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


thank you - Rating 4/5

This was our first stay in Grassington and we found the Black Horse Hotel to be warm and welcoming, the four poster room was clean and comfortable with all mordern amenities. (including wi-fi, TV/DVD combo with HDMI socket. Breakfast was a leisurely experience with high quality local food and we found the evening meal to be of high standard. I'm sure we will return and recommend.

Reviewer:Colin T | Fri 10th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Awesome - Rating 5/5

John and Debbie really have got this place on its feet. After visiting the other pubs in the village, we knew we had found the right one for us. The rooms are smart and modern, with excellent facilities and the bar has a relaxed atmosphere and great food. We were immediately made welcome and even though we were on such a short stay, we still got to know some of the staffs names. Thanks to Steve (the "walking stick"man and Nick and Tobi for making our short stay a memorable one. Cant wait to go back.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan R | Fri 10th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Very Good Short Break - Rating 4/5

Every member of staff we met at the Black Horse made us feel very welcome and were very courteous. Travelling with my wife and 2 daughters, the room was very comfortable and clean but could have done with an extra mirror. Because we were in Grassington for a family wedding, we didn't eat in the hotel of an evening but the breakfasts were very good, the food was hot and the service very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul S | Mon 6th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Great value hotel - Rating 5/5

This was a really good value stay. The room was very clean and comfortable and the hard working staff were friendly and efficient. Particular praise must go to the chef who produced outstanding evening meals which we ate in the pub lounge. The cooked breakfasts were also excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Steven D | Mon 6th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


The Black Horse - Rating 4/5

We loved the location in Grassington, the hotel room was very good and the staff friendly. Our main critisism was the >1hr wait to be served dinner although the food was good. Excellent breakfast.R and M

Reviewer:Mr. Richard J | Tue 31st May 2011 | 7 years ago


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

After 60 miles tough cycling we were greeted with a warm welcome by John and his staff.Room were ideal for our requirements and the full English breakfast went down a treat before another long days cycling.

Reviewer:Peter J | Wed 25th May 2011 | 7 years ago


dennis - Rating 5/5

Very good impression as soon as you walk in. The staff are extremely friendly and the room was very nice and clean with a fantastic view.

Reviewer:Mr Dennis E | Mon 16th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Black Horse - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a 4 night stay in the Black Horse in Grassington.The hotel was better than I expected for the money.The room had just been refurbished so everything was clean and new, the staff helpful and friendly and the breakfasts spot on.Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter J | Sun 8th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Black Horse Grassington - Rating 5/5

Thouroughly enjoyed a weekend stay at the Black Horse,John and the staff very helpful and friendly. Good rooms, Good food, good beer. Cant wait for a return visit, very very dog friendly.

Reviewer:Mr S | Sun 8th May 2011 | 7 years ago


black horse - Rating 4/5

good room, good hospitality, great breakfast.

Reviewer:Peter S | Fri 6th May 2011 | 7 years ago


great place friendly staff and real value - Rating 5/5

Stayed on first night of Way of The Roses cycle route on a busy bank holiday. Staff could not have been more helpful or accomodating. We stayed in what was described as "bunk style"accomodation. If anything this was undersold. I was expecting a youth hostel style set up but the room and especially the En suite shower was better than most B+B i've stayed in and the cost (£25 ppn) was a bargain including breakfast.Breakfast was massive and we left the next morning well fuelled and rested for the rest of the ride. VERY HIGHLY RECOMENDED

Reviewer:Tim W | Wed 27th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

I had booked our stay as a Christmas gift for my husband. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome, shown to our room, meal times and room facilities were explained. Our room had recently been refurbished and looked wonderful. The room was very clean, bed linen crisp and oh such a comfortable bed!! Unfortunately, not all the channels were accessible. Breakfasts were wholesome, filling and piping hot. Our evening meal on the Saturday was very good. All in all, an excellent stay. The Black Horse is to be recommended. We will be back!!

Reviewer:Mrs V J | Mon 18th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat